The editors of the African Disability Rights Yearbook (ADRY) are pleased to announce the publication of the seventh volume of the ADRY.

Section A of this volume features six articles by: Merga Yadesa Dibaba on the implications of article 12 of the CRPD for the legal capacity of persons with psychosocial and intellectual disabilities in Ethiopia; Ebenezer Durojaye and Satang Nabaneh on human rights and access to health care for persons with albinism; Shimelis Tsegaye Tesemma and Susanna Abigaêl Coetzee on conceptualising child youth with disabilities and the dehumanising disability discourse; Paul Juma on the right to selfrepresentation for people with mental disabilities in Kenya’s courts; Martin Musengi on the place of sign language in the inclusive education of deaf learners in Zimbabwe; and Nkosana Maphosa, CG Moyo and B Moyo on the voting rights for people with disabilities in Zimbabwe.

Section B contains country reports on: Chad by Serge Marcellin Tengho; Mali by Marianne Séverin; Burundi by Gerard Emmanuel Kamga; and the Republic of Congo, Brazaville by Marianne Séverin, Chretien Fontcha; and South Sudan by Innocentia Mgijima Konopi, Theophilus M Odaudu and Reshoketswe Mapokgole.

Section C on regional developments contains two commentaries by: Anastasia Holoboff & Suzannah Phillips on leveraging the international human-rights system to advance local change for South African women with disabilities; and Yvette Basson on Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in Africa and the right to an adequate standard of living.

The 2019 volume ends with a book review of Intellectual disability and the right to a sexual life (2019) authored by Simon Foley. The book is reviewed by Charles Ngwena.

The financial assistance of the Open Society Institute Budapest Foundation (OSI) a Hungarian charitable foundation within the Open Society Foundations (OSF), in particular the Higher Education Support Project (HESP) is gratefully acknowledged.


Charles Ngwena (convening editor)
Ilze Grobbelaar-du Plessis
Heléne Combrinck
Serges Djoyou Kamga
Nkatha Murungi